When I Turn Away…

Standard

When I shift my posture, fold my arms and turn away it means I don’t want to hear it again.

I’ve been here done this for over 30 years and I know the pain I cause.

When I cross my legs and look at the floor the conversation is something dark to me.

I’ve been here done this for over 20 years and I know the pain I’ve lived.

When I excuse myself or just walk away the words are more traumatic than you will ever know.

I’ve been here done this for over 20 years and I know the pain I have yet to resolve.

When I sit forward in my seat, clasp my hands, and bounce my leg, it is something that I believe in but is being threatened.

I’ve been here before, I have seen it repeat itself over and over and I have no patience left.

When I stand up in a sitting crowd, muscles tense and ready to scream out loud, but instead I walk out of the room, it is because all that has gone forward has hit a dam, and all is being washed downstream in the collapse.

I’ve been here before, watched Ignorance lead the pack while Backbone shrivels and dies.

About me

Northern country girl, daughter, mother, wife, fiscal conservative, social liberal, recovering catholic, environmentalist, equality rules! Proverbs 31 Girl. You may as well say, 'That's a valiant flea that dare eat his breakfast on the lip of a lion. William Tecumseh Sherman When you wake up in the morning and your feet hit the floor.... the devil says "oh crap, she's awake"...

Leave a Reply

