Standard

Victim Blaming needs to end now – Real Men don’t rape…

Alexandra House Blog

By Cheryl, Volunteer Advocate and Support Group Facilitator

“I shouldn’t have been drinking that night.”

“I shouldn’t have worn that top.”

“I shouldn’t have been in that place.”

These are comments I often hear from survivors of sexual assault in the support group I facilitate. Many survivors encounter these messages – directly or indirectly – and feel they must blame themselves for having been raped or assaulted. I work with the group on many things, one of which is to help survivors recognize that a victim of sexual assault is never to blame.

No one walks into a situation intent on being abused or assaulted. It is not the victim’s responsibility to prevent the assault. The person committing the assault is the only one who is wrong, and he/she is the one who needs to evaluate their behaviors and beliefs, and be held accountable for their actions – not the…

View original post 293 more words

About me

Northern country girl, daughter, mother, wife, fiscal conservative, social liberal, recovering catholic, environmentalist, equality rules! Proverbs 31 Girl. You may as well say, 'That's a valiant flea that dare eat his breakfast on the lip of a lion. William Tecumseh Sherman When you wake up in the morning and your feet hit the floor.... the devil says "oh crap, she's awake"...

One response »

  1. Attractive component to content. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to claim that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing in your augment or even I success you get admission to persistently fast.

Leave a Reply

