This is Why I Speak

Standard

The reason why I speak is because of a 16 month old standing his ground yelling “No My Mommy” almost 21 years ago and children like that are still defending their mommies today.

The reason why I speak is because the taste of toilet water has not changed in over 30 years from middle school swirlys.

I still speak because begging for abuse shelter funding in 1991 is still as frustrating and aggravating as it is in 2011

I still speak because conceiving a child through marital rape and then losing her to the same man’s beating and yet 20 years later Congress won’t pass the Violence Against Women Act.

My voice will not be silenced, our voices will not be quieted, but what will it take for you to understand that nothing has changed?

My voice will not be silenced until you understand, America is no longer Beautiful and a song is no longer enough to teach our children that.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

