You Could Have Just. . . . .

Standard

Remember in your youth the phrase “Think before you speak”
was told over and over by the adults around you? It always amazed me how some
adults could speak out both sides of their mouths. At what point did we lose
our willingness to engage our brain before inserting our foot? Was it when we
realized there was no longer a consequence for our remarks or was it when we
learned the first amendment? Regardless of the reason, toying with someone life
in words should have consequences.

Being diagnosed with epilepsy this concept was evident even
to an eleven year old. Listening to doctors ask questions that would leave even
the most hardened adult confused and belittled. No medical reason for the
epilepsy like brain trauma or birth defect questions were asked like “could you
conjure one (a seizure) up for me?” “You could be wearing your ponytail too
tight”, “Are you sure you aren’t just imagining this?”  Twenty-two years of being treated like it was
all in my head until one sentence was uttered, 70 to 80% of all seizures have
no known cause. What? I’m a normal oddity? That one sentence if uttered at any
point 20 years earlier would have changed so much.

Then later in life, after the birth of a beautiful baby boy,
the request for birth control was made. For some reason the myths of women on
neurological medications would either have horrible birth defect consequences or
women on these meds tend to forget to take their birth control ran rampant
through the medical society. The practice of tying tubes or tubligation would
be my only option. I was sterilized because of my mythical inability to
remember to take my birth control.

Adults and physicians were not the only ones to mentally and
emotionally wrestle with, there is another stumbling block that for most of us
would be the last place we would encounter little or no understanding.

Being Catholic, seeking marriage assistance is not unusual.
Knowing that you have someone to speak to in total confidence is comforting.
The priest listened to my marriage issues, then told me to bring him (my ex) to
church more, be more submissive and a better wife so as not to anger him. Not
the words I was expecting. This holy man was telling me I was at fault for my
ex’s alcohol induced beatings.

I had been married for almost four years. Seeking an
annulment, another Catholic priest (my hometown priest) told me “you should
have just shut up and listened and you wouldn’t have gotten hit” point blank.
That was the end of the discussion and that was the end of me attending the Catholic
Church.

From my catechism teachings I don’t remember the heroes and
heroines of the bible being submissive. They were aggressive and empowered, why
should I have been any different?

“You could have just” can be a very powerful statement when
used the right way. The next time you see a child or a woman being abused and
stand by and do nothing. Look into their eyes and see “you could have just held
me or gotten me out; you could have just called someone in my time in need”.

The next time you are fighting over truths and half-truths,
look into their eyes and see “you could have just told me up front I can take
it, you could have just been braver than me this time”.

The next time you pretend to understand a person’s anguish,
step back one minute and take a look and you will see, “you could have just
been there wholly instead of pretending to know, you could have just silently
listened as my world fell apart – opinions were not needed just then”.

So please, if you get anything out of this, finish this
sentence before you change the life of a child, a victim, a friend, a
co-worker, a patient, a parishioner, or anyone for that matter.

You could have just…..just what? Think about that the next
time you speak a half truth or your belief, is it better for you or the person
receiving it?

35 responses »

  1. After reading your blog post I browsed your website a bit and noticed you aren’t ranking nearly as well in Google as you could be. I possess a handful of blogs myself and I think you should take a look here: http://dominateseowithwordpress.com You’ll find it’s a very nice tool that can bring you a lot more visitors. Keep up the quality posts

  2. Hi there, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam feedback? If so how do you stop it, any plugin or anything you can advise? I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any support is very much appreciated.

  3. I must show my appreciation for your generosity supporting people that really want assistance with this particular matter. Your special commitment to getting the message around had been remarkably functional and have continuously empowered girls just like me to attain their aims. The important hints and tips entails this much to me and far more to my peers. Thanks a lot; from all of us.

    • You are very welcome. I told my story the first time in 1992 to save the shelter I was attending for assistance. I have amazing mentors and wonderful friends and family that stand beside me ( and hold me up on occasion). If more of us stand up and tell our stories, the more we put a face to this and empower others.

  4. Hi! I’ve been following your site for a while now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Lubbock Texas! Just wanted to tell you keep up the fantastic work!

  5. Hello! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the superb work!

  6. Whats up this is kinda of off topic but I was wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding expertise so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  7. Howdy! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa? My website discusses a lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other. If you might be interested feel free to send me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you! Excellent blog by the way!

  8. Hello! This post could not be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this article to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

  9. I am really loving the theme/design of your weblog. Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility issues? A number of my blog readers have complained about my blog not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Chrome. Do you have any recommendations to help fix this problem?

  10. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you create this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz answer back as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. many thanks

  11. We are a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your site offered us with valuable information to work on. You have done a formidable job and our whole neighborhood will probably be grateful to you.

  12. Hey there I am so glad I found your website, I really found you by mistake, while I was looking on Aol for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a fantastic post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the awesome work.

  13. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your website. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme? Exceptional work!

  14. Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all of us you actually recognize what
    you’re talking approximately! Bookmarked. Please also consult with my web site =).
    We will have a link change agreement among us

  15. Hello superb blog! Does running a blog similar to this take a
    lot of work? I have very little expertise in programming but I was hoping to start my owwn blog in the near future.
    Anyhow, should you have any recommendations or techniques for new blog owners please share.

    I know this is ooff subject bbut I siply had to ask.

    Kudos!

    • Im a newbie. WordPress is a great place to start. I started this blog as a venting site nothing more. Follow your heart and you will do just fine.

Leave a Reply

