One Starry Night

Standard

On 31 May 1991, I ended my life as a punching bag,
sex slave, money machine and alcoholic.

This marriage did not start out this
way. But after the birth of a beautiful baby boy, the stress, as in any
marriage, started mounting. A child constantly sick with ear infections and colic,
finances disintegrating, and with this a now ex- husband’s drinking became
worse and he eventually turned to drugs. His temper and mood swings became
volatile.

One heated discussion got out of
hand and the realization that it was time to leave finally came. As he advanced
toward me with danger in his eyes he was blocked by a two foot tall
obstruction. “NO MY MOMMY” roared my son emphatically. This child had the
courage to stand up to him, what was stopping me? That night the plan to leave
was started and was further accelerated when the ex and one of his friends
raped me in a drunken, drugged up rage.

Escape was being put in place, but
“that starry night” an argument erupted and once again it was fight or flight.
This evil tried to conquer me for one last time racing out into that night. A
group of neighbors, friends even, gathered ‘round yelling and screaming but
offering no help. As if to be placing bets at a cock fight and cheering on
their prize winner.

The police finally came and took him
away into the night, my freedom in yellow arrived and the cab took us away to
the airport, flight with a different fight now.

I left with 3 carry-ons, a 16 month
old child, bruises and broken bones. Trudging busted and battered through 3
airports no one assisted until Cincinnati. She came up to us with an angelic
yet knowing smile and our bags. With no words exchanged we ran to the last and final
gate home, we made it. Now believe it or not came the tough part, resisting the
urges to return, survive the horrific nightmares, and pull every shred of
courage together to stand up to his evil threats.

On paper, the chain of ownership was
broken; the divorce was final in 1992. The chain of fear remained attached as
the nightmares and terrors continued to surround me. Dating came with distrust,
waiting for that “flash of evil” from any one of them. Trauma and terror really
do something to a person, and if you can just take the time, walk through it
with them once.

About me

Northern country girl, daughter, mother, wife, fiscal conservative, social liberal, recovering catholic, environmentalist, equality rules! Proverbs 31 Girl. You may as well say, 'That's a valiant flea that dare eat his breakfast on the lip of a lion. William Tecumseh Sherman When you wake up in the morning and your feet hit the floor.... the devil says "oh crap, she's awake"...

30 responses »

  1. Oh my goodness! an incredible article dude. Thank you Nevertheless I am experiencing difficulty with ur rss . Don?t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anybody getting similar rss drawback? Anyone who knows kindly respond. Thnkx

  2. I have to say, as quite a lot as I enjoyed reading what you had to say, I couldnt help but lose interest after a though. Its as in the event you had a superb grasp about the subject matter, but you forgot to include your readers. Maybe it’s best to feel about this from further than 1 angle. Or possibly you shouldnt generalise so really much. Its better should you feel about what others may perhaps need to say instead of just heading for a gut reaction towards the subject. Think about adjusting your personal believed procedure and giving others who may possibly read this the benefit with the doubt.

    • Thank you for your thoughts, I will take that into mind when writing. I spend most of my time taking others into consideration that sometimes I just need to be selfish in my writing. And sometimes I am writing for just me, and sometimes I am writing for a certain group of individuals. This is my vent space more than it is my share with others space.

  3. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be really something which I think I would never understand. It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  4. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be really something that I think I would never understand. It seems too complex and very broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  5. Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any suggestions for first-time blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

  6. I’ve read a few just right stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how much attempt you place to make one of these magnificent informative website.

  7. Wow! This could be one particular of the most useful blogs We’ve ever arrive across on this subject. Basically Excellent. I am also an expert in this topic therefore I can understand your hard work.

Leave a Reply

