for today only

Standard

For today only

As I sit here this morning,

Mildly contemplating all I have to do

And look ahead to what’s next

Seeing both pale and brooding hues

I listen to the cars go by

And nature’s attempt to drown them out

Take another sip of coffee

As I ready for my daily bout

What is in store for me, for us, for them?

I ask myself in a haphazard frame of thought

But, to go past today only intensifies

The ladle that stirs the pot

So today will be today

I will get done what I can

For soon, it will be tomorrow

To start it all over again

For I cannot predict the future

I can only make sure I am prepared for when it
comes

For as a wise one once said

A woman’s work, is never done

About me

Northern country girl, daughter, mother, wife, fiscal conservative, social liberal, recovering catholic, environmentalist, equality rules! Proverbs 31 Girl. You may as well say, 'That's a valiant flea that dare eat his breakfast on the lip of a lion. William Tecumseh Sherman When you wake up in the morning and your feet hit the floor.... the devil says "oh crap, she's awake"...

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

